First Phosphate (FSE: KD0) Trades on Three Kinds of Numbers, and Only One Describes the Deposit
An 861 per cent rise in shareholders of record, a US$1,500 flash report and a 198.5 million tonne indicated resource are being read as one story. They are three stages of proof, and the financing is not among them.
First Phosphate Corp. (CSE: PHOS, FSE: KD0) told shareholders on September 1, 2026 that holders of record had risen 861 per cent since the 2025 meeting, three weeks after its ADRs began trading on Nasdaq and a week after it filed an updated NI 43-101 resource of 198.5 Mt indicated at 6.00 per cent P2O5. A September 2 flash report that cut the discount rates in its model was paid for by the company at US$1,500. Of the numbers in circulation, only the resource is a filed statement about the rock, and construction financing for Bégin-Lamarche has not been announced.
By Daniel Okoye9 min read

Indicated resource, Bégin-Lamarche
198.5 Mt at 6.00 per cent P2O5
pit-constrained, effective May 1, 2026; NI 43-101 report by P&E Mining Consultants, filed August 24, 2026 (measured 6.2 Mt at 7.70 per cent, inferred 89.5 Mt at 6.16 per cent).
Shareholders of record
up 861 per cent versus the 2025 meeting
First Phosphate release, September 1, 2026; absolute count not stated in the release text.
Paid research
US$1,500 paid by the company to EGR
September 2, 2026 flash report; discount rates cut to 10.5 per cent (mine) and 12.5 per cent (acid plant), all other assumptions unchanged.
Capital raised at Nasdaq uplisting
none
ADR ratio ten common shares per ADR, trading from August 10, 2026 (Newsfile, August 7, 2026).
Frankfurt listing
FSE: KD0; ISIN CA33611D1033
company wire boilerplate, September 1, 2026; CSE close C$2.25 on September 4, 2026 (QuoteMedia data).
First Phosphate Corp. (CSE: PHOS, FSE: KD0, Nasdaq: PHOS) reported on September 1, 2026 that shareholders of record for its August 28 annual meeting had increased by 861 per cent over the 2025 meeting. The release, carried on the Newsfile wire, followed a Nasdaq listing for the company's American Depositary Receipts on August 10 and an updated NI 43-101 resource estimate for the Bégin-Lamarche property, filed August 24. On September 2, Emerging Growth Research, LLC published a flash report that lowered the discount rates in its model. EGR's own release states the company paid for it.
The reading on the message boards, and the one a holder of KD0 will meet at the Frankfurt open, treats those items as one story about a project advancing. They are three different kinds of number, and only one of them is a statement about the deposit. A register count describes the holders, not the rock. A paid model is not disclosure. A resource estimate, filed as a technical report by an independent qualified person, is disclosure about the rock. The fourth number, the one that would move Bégin-Lamarche toward construction, is a financing, and no release reviewed here announces one.
What US$1,500 bought: a lower discount rate, not a new fact about the deposit
A flash report is a short third-party research note issued quickly after a company event. EGR's September 2, 2026 release says the firm "reduced the discount rate applied to the mine to 10.5% (from 11.5%) and to the phosphoric acid plant to 12.5% (from 13.5%)", with "all operating, production, capex and commodity price assumptions held unchanged". A discount rate is the rate at which future cash flows are shrunk to a present value; lower it and the present value rises with nothing else touched. By EGR's own words, no tonne, no grade, no capital cost and no phosphate price changed. What moved is a judgement inside a spreadsheet about how much risk to charge a mine and an acid plant that are not yet financed or built.
The same release says who paid for the judgement: "EGR is being compensated by the subject Company of this report. EGR was paid one thousand five hundred USD for this report and expects to receive an additional zero dollars over the following 12 months." The flash report is issuer-paid research whose only stated change is a lower discount rate, and it reads correctly as the company's case restated by a contractor, not as new evidence about the property. That does not make its arithmetic wrong; it means it carries no independent weight.
The release also carries a larger claim: that "Denmark's state-backed Export and Investment Fund (EIFO) has issued a letter of intent for a guarantee of up to C$275 million for the Begin-Lamarche mine". No company release confirming those terms was located. A letter of intent for a guarantee "up to" an amount is not a signed guarantee, and a guarantee is not a financing. Until the issuer files it, that figure belongs in the paid-research column of the scorecard below.
198.5 million tonnes is a resource, not a mine
On August 24, 2026 the company reported filing an updated technical report and mineral resource estimate for Bégin-Lamarche, prepared by P&E Mining Consultants Inc. with Antoine Yassa, P.Geo., as independent qualified person, effective May 1, 2026. The estimate is pit-constrained, meaning it counts only material inside a conceptual open-pit shell that a mine could plausibly reach. It states 6.2 Mt measured at 7.70 per cent P2O5, 198.5 Mt indicated at 6.00 per cent P2O5 and 89.5 Mt inferred at 6.16 per cent P2O5. The company calls the indicated figure a "378% increase in Indicated Mineral Resources over the Company's Initial MRE dated September 9, 2024".
Tonnes times grade is the arithmetic that matters. Indicated: 198.5 Mt at 6.00 per cent is about 11.9 Mt of contained P2O5. Measured: 6.2 Mt at 7.70 per cent is about 0.48 Mt. Inferred: 89.5 Mt at 6.16 per cent is about 5.5 Mt. Those are derived, in-ground figures before recovery loss; the deposit's weight is in the indicated category at six per cent.
Under NI 43-101, measured and indicated resources can support an economic study and eventual conversion to reserves; inferred resources cannot be converted to reserves or carry a feasibility-level study. The August 24 release references no preliminary economic assessment, pre-feasibility or feasibility study, so as of that date there is a resource and there is no company-authored statement of what it is worth. A reserve is rock that a study has shown can be mined at a profit. Bégin-Lamarche has a resource. The same release reports metallurgical test work, not plant results: a 40.4 per cent P2O5 concentrate at 88 per cent recovery, and a 91.1 per cent conversion ratio to battery-grade phosphoric acid. The acid plant whose discount rate EGR lowered is a model, not a permit.
An ADR changes who can hold the stock, not how much money the company has
An American Depositary Receipt is a US-bank certificate representing a fixed number of a foreign company's shares, traded on a US exchange. On August 7, 2026 the company announced that its ADRs would begin trading on the Nasdaq Global Market under the symbol PHOS on August 10, with The Bank of New York Mellon as depositary and ten common shares per ADR. The uplisting "does not constitute a new offering of securities and, therefore, no additional shares are being issued nor is any capital being raised". It added a US venue, not a dollar to the treasury.
That frames the 861 per cent figure. The September 1 release states that "shareholders on record for the 2026 Meeting increased by 861% over the 2025 Meeting". The text on the company's site does not give the absolute number; the tallies are an image. A count of 12,501 circulating on the boards cannot be verified in the release text, and I do not use it. The reported figure says a small base grew many times over in a window that included a Nasdaq listing. A percentage change in shareholders of record measures how many accounts hold the stock, not how much capital they hold or what they paid for it.
The rest of the meeting was governance: five directors elected, Davidson & Company LLP appointed auditor, the equity incentive plan re-approved, and an advance notice policy in effect immediately for any shareholder "who intends to nominate any person for election as director". That is the housekeeping a developer does before it approaches larger capital providers. It is not the approach.
This desk made the same separation on September 1 with Québec Innovative Materials Corp. (CSE: QIMC), where a gas measurement was being read as an outcome; the stage differs, a filed resource against exploration readings, and the comparison says nothing about relative value.
Scorecard: who stands behind each figure
| Figure | Filed by the company | Paid research (EGR) | Forum claims |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shareholders of record, change | Up 861 per cent vs the 2025 meeting (release, September 1, 2026) | Not cited | Treated as a project milestone |
| Shareholders of record, absolute | Not stated in release text | Not cited | 12,501, unverified |
| Indicated resource | 198.5 Mt at 6.00 per cent P2O5 (NI 43-101 report, August 24, 2026) | Production assumptions "held unchanged" | None tracked |
| Project economics | None referenced in the August 24 release | Discount rates cut to 10.5 per cent (mine) and 12.5 per cent (acid plant) | Present value treated as a milestone |
| EIFO guarantee | No company release located confirming terms | Letter of intent, guarantee of up to C$275 million (September 2, 2026) | None tracked |
| Capital raised at Nasdaq uplisting | None (release, August 7, 2026) | Not cited | None tracked |
| Construction financing | Not announced | Not announced | None tracked |
| Who paid for the research | Not applicable | US$1,500 from the company | None tracked |
"Not cited" means the figure does not appear in the passages of that source quoted in this note; "none tracked" means the forum discussion reviewed did not carry it. Neither means the source disputes it. Read across the rows: the column with the most figures is the paid one, and the column with the most weight is the filed one.
The financing is the number still missing
Everything in the record points at a mine and an acid plant, and nothing in it pays for either. The company's news archive lists an August 5, 2026 release announcing C$4.84 million in non-repayable contributions from the Government of Canada for road infrastructure and a power transmission line (from the release title; body not reviewed). That is infrastructure money, not construction capital.
Nor is the tape. The CSE close on September 4, 2026 was C$2.25, on 189,144,530 shares outstanding according to QuoteMedia data, a count not verified against SEDAR+. That multiplies to a derived market capitalisation of about C$425.6 million. A German reader sees the same equity under KD0 on the Frankfurt exchange, ISIN CA33611D1033 per the company's wire boilerplate. Market capitalisation is not cash the company can spend.
On the balance sheet this note is silent by design: the financial statements on SEDAR, where the investor page points, were not part of this review, so no cash balance, burn rate or debt figure is cited here. I flag the gap rather than paper over it. What the record does establish is narrower and clear: no construction financing for Bégin-Lamarche has been announced, in equity, in debt or in a signed guarantee, and the only financing-shaped item in circulation is a letter of intent cited by a paid note.
Six filings that would move a number from one column to another
- A company release or SEDAR+ filing setting out the EIFO terms, including the conditions behind "up to C$275 million". It moves the largest number in the story from the paid column to the filed one.
- An announced project financing of any form, with the amount, the cost and the dilution stated.
- A preliminary economic assessment or feasibility study on Bégin-Lamarche, which would put a qualified person's economics beside EGR's.
- A quarterly filing showing cash and liabilities, which fills the gap noted above.
- A later technical report that changes categories or grades. Inferred tonnes moving into indicated strengthens the asset; a cut to grade weakens it.
- The next meeting circular showing the register shrinking. This changes very little about the deposit and a fair amount about the story.
Another flash report with another discount rate sits below all six; it changes a spreadsheet.
How I read the record
I apply the same standard to the August steps as to everything above. They are the ones a developer takes before it approaches lenders: an independent resource with nearly 200 Mt indicated, a US listing that widened the register without dilution, a new auditor and an advance notice policy. Each is checkable.
They are also not what the boards are pricing. The register grew from a small base. The indicated resource grew by 378 per cent. The research was paid for, at US$1,500, and its only stated change was a rate. The financing is not announced. Judge the next release on whether it adds a filed number to the financing row of the scorecard, because that is one of the rows in which the company has yet to write anything.
Transparency note
Transparency note. This is an independent due-diligence analysis and editorial opinion piece produced by The Maple Markets editorial desk. It is not sponsored, promoted or commissioned, and no compensation of any kind has been received from First Phosphate Corp. (CSE: PHOS), Emerging Growth Research or any party acting on their behalf. The analysis is based on public disclosure available as of the publish date; every figure is attributed to its primary source. The Maple Markets and its authors may hold positions in securities mentioned; nothing here is a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security, and readers should not treat it as investment advice. Past disclosure does not guarantee future results. Policies: Editorial Standards · Financial Disclaimer.
Weiterlesen
Also in English: First Phosphate (FSE: KD0) Trades on Three Kinds of Numbers, and Only One Describes the Deposit
Mining and ResourcesFirst Phosphate hat zwei verbindliche Abnahmeverträge und Bundesmittel; es fehlt die WirtschaftlichkeitsstudieFirst Phosphate Corp. (CSE: PHOS, FSE: KD0) hat zwei verbindliche Abnahmeverträge über jährlich 200,000 Tonnen Phosphatkonzentrat und 60,000 Tonnen Phosphorsäure unterzeichnet, beide unabhängig bestätigt in einem Hintergrundpapier der kanadischen Regierung, und verfügt über C$21.54 Millionen an vertraglich zugesagten, nicht rückzahlbaren Bundesmitteln. Die angezeigte Ressource in Bégin-Lamarche hat sich seit 2024 nahezu verfünffacht. Es fehlt weiterhin die Wirtschaftlichkeitsstudie, die die Mine bepreisen würde, und keiner der Käufer wird genannt.Daniel Okoye · 15. September 2026 · 9 min
Mining and ResourcesFirst Lithium Minerals eröffnet in vier Monaten die dritte Finanzierung, zu einem Preis über dem eigenen SchlusskursFirst Lithium Minerals Corp. (CSE: FLM, FSE: X28) hat am 16. September 2026 eine neue Privatplatzierung nach der Listed-Issuer-Financing-Ausnahme begonnen, die dritte seit Mai. Vollständig gezeichnet brächte sie rund C$5,0 Millionen und 44,6 Millionen neue Aktien gegenüber 112,2 Millionen bereits ausstehenden. Das eigene Angebotsdokument vom Juli bezifferte das Betriebskapital auf rund C$100.000 und trug einen Going-Concern-Hinweis. Die Frankfurter Notierung existiert und machte am 17. September keinen Umsatz.Priya Sandhu · 18. September 2026 · 8 min
Mining and ResourcesQIMC bringt 823 neue Bodengas-Stationen nach Ontario, der fünfte Schritt einer öffentlich aufgebauten MethodeQuébec Innovative Materials Corp. (CSE: QIMC) hat am 17. September 2026 ein erweitertes Programm zur Exploration von natürlichem Wasserstoff auf der Ontario-Seite des Témiscamingue-Grabens gestartet: 823 neue Bodengas-Stationen im 100-Meter-Raster über rund 80 Linienkilometer, womit die Ontario-Datenbank auf etwa 1,733 Stationen wächst, dazu mehr als 1,100 gravimetrische Stationen und 78 Linienkilometer 2D-Seismik. Die Aktie schloss bei C$0.59. Die eigene Offenlegung des Unternehmens sagt, dass nichts davon eine Fließrate misst.Priya Sandhu · 17. September 2026 · 7 min
Dieser Geschichte folgen
PHOS.CN folgen – der nächste Maple-Beitrag zu diesem Unternehmen, dazu der Maple Morning Debrief vor Handelsbeginn.
Folgen und fragen
Mehr von unserer Berichterstattung zu den kanadischen Märkten in Google Top Stories.
Meinung
Dieser Beitrag gibt die persönliche Meinung des Autors wieder, ist von der Nachrichtenberichterstattung getrennt und keine Anlageberatung.
Quellen und Verweise (6)
- First Phosphate: Bégin-Lamarche mineral resource estimate updated and NI 43-101 technical report filed (company release, August 24, 2026)
- First Phosphate: uplisting of ADRs to the Nasdaq Global Market under PHOS (Newsfile, August 7, 2026)
- First Phosphate: 2026 annual meeting results (company release, September 1, 2026)
- Emerging Growth Research: release announcing a new flash report on First Phosphate Corp. (September 2, 2026; issuer-paid, per EGR's disclosure)
- First Phosphate news archive (company site; August 5, 2026 government contributions release listed)
- First Phosphate investor page: listings and link to SEDAR filings
Diese Analyse zitieren
Bitte The Maple Markets nennen und auf die Originalseite verlinken.
Daniel Okoye (8. September 2026). First Phosphate (FSE: KD0) Trades on Three Kinds of Numbers, and Only One Describes the Deposit. The Maple Markets. https://themaplemarkets.ca/de/newsroom/first-phosphate-fse-kd0-shareholders-up-861-per-cent-paid-research-note-no-financing-yethttps://themaplemarkets.ca/de/newsroom/first-phosphate-fse-kd0-shareholders-up-861-per-cent-paid-research-note-no-financing-yet