Skip to main content
The Maple Markets

A Kilometre From Its Nearest Hole, FireFox Gold Drilled 21 Metres of 4.13 g/t in Lapland

The Lammas intercept is the first hole into ground the company had never drilled, and it arrived on the same morning a paid promotion of the listing was running.

FireFox Gold Corp. (TSXV: FFOX) reported on 16 September 2026 that hole 26MJ032 cut 21.0 metres averaging 4.13 g/t gold more than 650 metres from any previous drilling at Mustajarvi in Finnish Lapland. The shares closed at C$0.63, up 26.0 per cent on thirteen times average volume. Two earlier holes this month carried higher grades and moved nothing. What changed was the distance, and a paid listing that ran the same day.

By Priya Sandhu8 min read

A Kilometre From Its Nearest Hole, FireFox Gold Drilled 21 Metres of 4.13 g/t in Lapland
Maple Markets

Discovery intercept

21.0 m at 4.13 g/t gold, core width

hole 26MJ032 from 114.0 m, including 1.0 m at 21.6 g/t; true width not stated; FireFox Gold release, 2026-09-16

Distance from previous drilling

more than 650 m

Lammas sits roughly 750 to 950 m southeast of the East Zone; company release, 2026-09-16

Close and volume

C$0.63, up 26.0 per cent on 317,599 shares

TSX Venture Exchange, 2026-09-16, against a 30-day average near 23,840 shares; market data read after the close, 15-minute delayed

Last financing

C$6,725,400 gross at C$0.60 per unit

closed in two tranches, the second on 2026-06-25; half-warrant at C$0.90 for three years; 49,957,066 shares outstanding after closing

German listing

FSE symbol FIY1, WKN A419WJ, ISIN CA31816R8369

about 25,000 shares traded 2026-09-16 at a bid-ask spread near 29 per cent; German market data, delayed

The collar of the hole FireFox Gold is calling a discovery sits in spruce and peat in Sodankylä municipality, in Finnish Lapland, on a piece of the company's own ground that had never had a rig on it. It is more than 650 metres from the nearest previous hole, and that distance, rather than the grade, is why the assays from it moved the share price.

FireFox Gold Corp. (TSXV: FFOX) reported on 16 September 2026, on the ACCESS Newswire wire, that hole 26MJ032 at its wholly owned Mustajärvi project cut 21.0 metres averaging 4.13 grams of gold per tonne from 114.0 metres down the hole, including one metre at 21.6 g/t. A second interval in the same hole ran 4.2 metres at 3.41 g/t from 138.0 metres, including one metre at 7.22 g/t, and two further metre-long intervals lower down returned 3.01 g/t and 1.82 g/t. The company named the new area the Lammas Zone and placed it roughly 750 to 950 metres southeast of the East Zone, the part of Mustajärvi it has been infilling all year.

The shares closed at C$0.63 on the TSX Venture Exchange that day, up 13 cents or 26.0 per cent, on 317,599 shares against a thirty-day average near 23,840. That is roughly thirteen times normal turnover on a company worth about C$31.5 million at the 16 September 2026 close, against a 52-week range of C$0.37 to C$0.89.

One hole, and the nearest other hole is 650 metres away

Mustajärvi has had 29,897 metres of drilling in total as at 16 September 2026, of which 15,752 metres were drilled by previous owners before FireFox arrived. Almost all of that work sits along one structure, the Mustajärvi Shear Zone, and in the East, Northeast and Central zones strung along it. Lammas is off that line.

That is what makes a first hole interesting and also what limits it. Gold in this style of deposit sits in sheared and altered rock along structures; find one structure and you have found a place where the process worked once. The company describes the Lammas mineralisation as sitting in a northeast-striking deformation zone with quartz, tourmaline and pyrite alteration in albite-altered sedimentary rock, which is recognisably the same recipe as the rest of the project. One hole says the recipe repeats somewhere new. It does not say how far it repeats, in which direction, or at what grade.

FireFox reported two more holes already completed on the same trend and awaiting assays. Hole 26MJ033 was drilled about 60 metres southwest of the discovery and 26MJ035 about 200 metres northeast, to 200.5 and 215.3 metres respectively. Until those results are reported, Lammas is one intersection.

The widths in the release are core widths

Every number in that first paragraph is a drilled length, measured along the hole. True width is the thickness of the mineralised rock measured square to it, and it is always the smaller number unless the hole happens to go straight through. The 16 September release reports core widths and does not state true widths, so 21.0 metres is an upper bound on how thick the Lammas zone actually is at that point. On a first hole into unknown geometry there is usually no way to say more, and the company does not try to.

The sampling side of the release is conventional and complete. Assays were run by ALS Laboratories using fire assay on 50-gram aliquots with a gravimetric finish for anything above 50.0 g/t gold, with duplicates and certified reference standards inserted; FireFox reported no deviations. Patrick Highsmith, a certified professional geologist and a director of the company, is named as the qualified person who approved the technical content. Carl Löfberg, the chief executive, said the hole shows how much room for discovery remains in the system.

The last two drill releases were stronger, and nothing happened

This is the part that gives the day its shape. On 1 September the company reported 2.0 metres at 63.19 g/t gold, including a metre at 124 g/t, in the East Zone. On 14 September it reported 7 metres at 11.36 g/t in a Northeast Zone step-out. Both are higher-grade than anything at Lammas. Neither produced a move of this size.

Release date, 2026Best reported intervalWhereShare price reaction
1 September2.0 m at 63.19 g/t Au, incl. 1.0 m at 124 g/tEast Zone, down dipno material move
14 September7.0 m at 11.36 g/t AuNortheast Zone step-outno material move
16 September21.0 m at 4.13 g/t AuLammas, new groundclose C$0.63, up 26.0 per cent

Grades are core widths as reported by FireFox Gold in each release; the price column is TSX Venture trading on each release date, from market data read after the close.

So the market did not re-rate FireFox on grade on 16 September. It re-rated on the possibility that Mustajärvi is bigger than one structure. That is a defensible thing for a market to do, and it is also the thinnest kind of evidence a mineral project generates: a single hole in a new place, with the geometry unknown and the next two results still at the laboratory.

A paid listing ran on the same morning

On 16 September the FFOX symbol also carried a paid "boosted" listing on a Canadian retail investor board, which is an advertising slot an issuer or a third party buys to place a ticker in front of that board's users. It ran alongside a genuine, wire-issued, qualified-person-approved drill release, and the honest conclusion is that the release is sufficient on its own to explain a move: a discovery hole reported before the Toronto open is exactly the kind of disclosure that produces thirteen times average volume in a microcap.

What the paid placement changes is the size of the audience, not the substance. It is still a fact worth having, because it is the difference between a price set by people reading a drill log and a price set partly by an advertisement, and because the same promotion was not running behind the 1 September and 14 September releases that the market ignored.

In Frankfurt the same shares traded 29 per cent apart

FireFox is quoted in Germany under the symbol FIY1, with the German securities number A419WJ and ISIN CA31816R8369, identifiers that changed after the company's 2024 share consolidation. The Frankfurt line matters here for one reason: on 16 September it traded about 25,000 shares with a last price of EUR 0.380 and a quote of EUR 0.336 bid against EUR 0.474 asked, a spread of roughly 29 per cent, against 317,599 shares in Toronto. That is per German market data read the same day, delayed rather than live.

A spread that wide means the German price is close to decorative: it tells you the security exists there, not what it is worth. Toronto sets the price. It is also notable that FireFox's own releases carry only the TSX Venture and OTC symbols in the header, so the German quotation is not something the company markets.

The money runs to a resource estimate in early 2027

FireFox closed a non-brokered private placement in two tranches, the second on 25 June 2026, raising C$6,725,400 gross through 11,208,999 units at C$0.60. Each unit carried one share and half a warrant, with a whole warrant exercisable at C$0.90 for three years. Directors and officers took 2,910,000 units, and Agnico Eagle Mines Limited, which holds a participation right, took 1,825,000. Finders were paid C$319,179 in cash and 265,982 warrants. The company had announced an upsized target of C$7,100,000 in May and finished about C$375,000 short of it.

The most recent reported balance-sheet figures put cash near C$6.62 million against liabilities near C$1.86 million, as at the 30 June 2026 quarter whose interim statements were filed on 31 August 2026. SEDAR+ was not readable when this was written, so that cash figure comes from market data rather than from the statement itself.

Two things follow from the placement price. The first is that the last institutional and insider money into this company went in at C$0.60, and the close on the day of the discovery was C$0.63. Five drill releases and one new zone later, the shares are five per cent above what the June buyers paid. The second is that FireFox is drilling with money it already has, not money it needs to raise on the strength of this hole, which removes the most common reason a junior puts out a release in September.

The Agnico relationship is separate from Mustajärvi, and the distinction is easy to blur. Under an agreement updated on 23 April 2026, an Agnico Eagle subsidiary can earn 51 per cent of the Kolho property by spending US$5 million on it before the fifth anniversary, and had spent about US$2.936 million to that date. Agnico is a partner on Kolho and a shareholder of FireFox. It has no earn-in on Mustajärvi.

FireFox says a maiden resource estimate for Mustajärvi is anticipated in early 2027. Until that document exists, there is no tonnage, no grade for a deposit rather than an interval, and no basis for comparing this company to one that has published a resource. Lammas will either be inside that estimate or too early to be in it, and the assays from 26MJ033 and 26MJ035 are the first thing that will indicate which.

A discovery hole buys the right to drill again. Everything else at Lammas is still under the peat.

Transparency note. This is an independent due-diligence analysis and editorial opinion piece produced by The Maple Markets editorial desk. It is not sponsored, promoted or commissioned, and no compensation of any kind has been received from Firefox Gold Corp. (TSXV: FFOX), Agnico Eagle Mines Limited (TSX: AEM) or any party acting on their behalf. The analysis is based on public disclosure available as of the publish date; every figure is attributed to its primary source. The Maple Markets and its authors may hold positions in securities mentioned; nothing here is a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security, and readers should not treat it as investment advice. Past disclosure does not guarantee future results. Policies: Editorial Standards · Financial Disclaimer.

Read next

Auch auf Deutsch: Einen Kilometer vom nächsten Bohrloch entfernt erbohrte FireFox Gold 21 Meter mit 4.13 g/t in Lappland

  1. Mining and ResourcesAya Gold and Silver Has Drilled 3,501 g/t Silver at Zgounder and Sold Nothing From It YetAya Gold & Silver Inc. (TSX: AYA) reported high-grade silver intercepts near the Zgounder pit and at depth on September 16, 2026, eight days after doubling the paper value of its Boumadine project and fifteen days after agreeing to buy a copper-silver land package. The shares closed at C$40.24 on 17 September. The company holds US$182.8 million of cash, and about 80 per cent of the metal in the Boumadine study is in the most speculative resource category there is.Élise Galarneau · September 18, 2026 · 8 min
  2. Mining and ResourcesBanyan Gold Joins the GDXJ With 8.6 Million Ounces and No Economic Study of ThemBanyan Gold Corp. (TSXV: BYN) said on 14 September 2026 that it joins the index behind the VanEck Junior Gold Miners ETF on 21 September. Its AurMac project in the Yukon holds 3.639 million indicated ounces and 4.985 million inferred ounces of gold. There is no preliminary economic assessment yet. At Tuesday's close the market valued the company at about C$98 for every ounce in the ground, or C$233 for each indicated ounce.Élise Galarneau · September 15, 2026 · 6 min
  3. Mining and ResourcesJuggernaut Exploration Fell 35 Per Cent the Day Its First Big One Gold Assays Replaced the VisualsJuggernaut Exploration Ltd. (TSXV: JUGR) published its first drill assays from the Big One property in British Columbia on September 10, 2026, reporting a best result of 3.08 g/t gold over 5.03 metres of core length in hole BO-26-11. The two holes the company had headlined in August for their visual mineralisation returned 0.47 g/t over 1.16 metres and no gold interval at all. The shares closed at C$0.63, down 35.0 per cent, on roughly seven times average volume, with no financing, halt or exchange bulletin behind the move.Daniel Okoye · September 11, 2026 · 8 min

Follow this story

Follow FFOX.V — the next Maple piece on this company, plus the Maple Morning Debrief before the open.

FFOX.V

By subscribing you agree to receive the Maple Morning Debrief and occasional editorial emails from The Maple Index Inc. Unsubscribe any time with one click.

Follow and ask

Add The Maple Markets to your Google sources

Get more of our Canadian market coverage in Google Top Stories.

Opinion

This article expresses the author's personal views, is separate from news reporting and is not investment advice.

Disclosure

**Transparency note.** This is an independent due-diligence analysis and editorial opinion piece produced by The Maple Markets editorial desk. It is not sponsored, promoted or commissioned, and no compensation of any kind has been received from Firefox Gold Corp. (TSXV: FFOX), Agnico Eagle Mines Limited (TSX: AEM) or any party acting on their behalf. The analysis is based on public disclosure available as of the publish date; every figure is attributed to its primary source. The Maple Markets and its authors may hold positions in securities mentioned; nothing here is a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security, and readers should not treat it as investment advice. Past disclosure does not guarantee future results. Policies: [Editorial Standards](https://themaplemarkets.ca/en/policies/editorial-standards) · [Financial Disclaimer](https://themaplemarkets.ca/en/policies/financial-disclaimer). See the Financial Disclaimer.

Priya SandhuTechnology Editor · 8 years covering Canadian technology issuersMore by Priya Sandhu
Sources and references (5)
  1. FireFox Gold Corp. newsroom, including the Lammas Zone release of 16 September 2026
  2. FireFox Gold Provides Update on Kolho Joint Venture, Lapland, Finland, 23 April 2026
  3. FireFox Identifies Promising New Drill Targets at Mustajärvi, 12 January 2026
  4. FireFox Gold Closes Second and Final Tranche of Non-Brokered Private Placement, 25 June 2026 (filed copy)
  5. German venue data, identifiers and quoted spread for FireFox Gold, 16 September 2026 (via German market data)

Cite this analysis

Please attribute The Maple Markets and link to the original page.

Priya Sandhu (September 17, 2026). A Kilometre From Its Nearest Hole, FireFox Gold Drilled 21 Metres of 4.13 g/t in Lapland. The Maple Markets. https://themaplemarkets.ca/en/newsroom/firefox-gold-firefox-gold-rose-26-per-cent-while-its-listing-was
https://themaplemarkets.ca/en/newsroom/firefox-gold-firefox-gold-rose-26-per-cent-while-its-listing-was

Discussion

Comments are written by readers, not by The Maple Markets newsroom. They are moderated, unverified, and are not investment advice.

Join the discussion

Create a free account to comment, reply and follow the companies you care about.

We use necessary cookies to run the site and, only with your permission, analytics cookies to understand what readers use. Cookie policy